cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wrong backup codes, can't login to Mozilla account, can't post on Support or Bugzilla

blujai831
Making moves

Hi.

Let me preface this by saying I understand the best place to post this complaint would be Mozilla Support, and the second-best place would be Bugzilla, and this is altogether definitely the wrong place to post the complaint. However, I am unable to post on Support or Bugzilla, because I can't login to my Mozilla account. (This is also the topic of my complaint itself.)

My account is newly created. I have never logged into it; this is my first attempt to login ever. The account email address is webmaster@blujai831.dev, so I wonder if perhaps using an unfamiliar email domain is the problem. If that is the problem, however, then the error message and timing are misleading. Namely:

The login process provided me with a QR code, and I successfully validated the QR code. The login process then provided me a list of ten generated backup codes, and then I was required to enter one of the backup codes. However, none of the backup codes worked. The login process would consistently report something to the effect that there was a problem verifying the backup code. I can't check the exact error message because I'm no longer allowed to even attempt to login.

Obviously, the first thing I did was do a web search to check if anyone else was having this problem. I found one support post about it. That person's problem was that they were entering their entire list of backup codes at once, when they should have been choosing a single backup code and entering that. Thus, I'm aware I'm supposed to be pasting in only one backup code, not the entire list. I was already doing that, so that's not the problem.